Joey Reviews: The Academy Awards

BY JOSEPH ARMENIO

The 85th Academy Awards® will air live on Oscar® Sunday, February 24, 2013.

Some people say the Oscars doesn’t matter, and for the most part, they’re right. But once in awhile, it’s actually pretty noteworthy. Though it had one of the lowest ratings in recent years, it was no doubt a signicant edition. But damn, paint me green and call me a cucumber cause that finish was insane. I haven’t seen an ending like that since The Sixth Sense when Bruce Willis was all like ‘I’m dead or whatevs’. Or that other movie Se7en when Brad Pitt got the wrong delivery from FedEx. Oh yeah, spoiler alert. Basically, what I’m trying to say is that it was pretty crazy. The producers of La La Land must have felt a little like Derek Zoolander standing up there holding some award that wasn’t theirs. Fun fact, that actually happened to me once – but enough about my middle school karate championship. I deserved that award, Sensei, and everybody knows it!

A lot of people have been telling me that I should do my review on Moonlight and I mean I probably should, considering it just pulled o the upset of the century. But I won’t, and here’s why: you should watch it on your own regardless if you want to see it or not. It’s an important movie about important stuff. The coming of age story by Barry Jenkins speaks for itself. There isn’t too much to analyze. The film is set up in such a way that you’re basically just witnessing key moments in this guy’s life. Sorta like Boyhood, but a little more deliberate in what was shown.

The movie I do however wanna tell you about is Manchester by the Sea. Did it win Best Picture? No. Was it anywhere close to winning? Debatable, but probably no. But was it just a good, solid movie? Yeah, it was. So good, actually, that I’m gonna convince you to watch it. Now, this wasn’t your average lm – and I mean that in the sense that it was no doubt statistically way sadder than anything you’ve seen in recent history. I mean we’re talking The Lion King Mufasa dying sad. No spoiler alert – you should have seen it already. But much like The Lion King, it was also extremely good. Parts of the movie had me crying, and that almost never happens. I mean, I didn’t even cry in The Notebook nor did I cry in Titanic. Do I have a soul? Am I secretly a ginger? I’ll get back to you on that.

Manchester by the Sea was no doubt a sad movie, but it was also a very funny one. I was laughing through a lot of it. It becomes very apparent as you watch why it won Best Original Screenplay. Plus, the performance by up-and-coming actor Lucas Hedges added a whole new comedic, yet serious element to it. Plus, Casey Affleck was just spectacular. I mean, there were some Best Supporting Actor nominees who had more lines, but every single movement he made seemed like it was an effort for his character. He displayed this man’s intense internal grief without saying a single word on the subject.

But in the end, was it a better movie than La La Land or Moonlight? No, because they’re completely different. Not everything’s a competition, man. Why can’t they just be equally good for different reasons, ya filthy animal?

To be honest, I enjoyed most, if not all, of the Best Picture nominations this year. Fences, La La Land, Manchester by the Sea, and Moonlight are all still available to watch here in Rome. Go to http://www.romereview.com to see the listings.

Leave a Reply

